A new perspective as Busselton Water Board expands

Three highly-credentialed professionals have joined the Board of Directors at Busselton Water, bringing almost a century of combined experience in government and industry, and fresh perspective to the corporation.

Busselton Water Board Chair, Helen Shervington, said the three new members – Dr Gae Synnott, Dr Robyn Paice and CEO Chris Elliott – offer tremendous leadership skills and a wealth of sector knowledge that she looks forward to drawing upon.

“As we continue to grow, we look to our Board to provide strong leadership, knowledge and networks to ensure we are well placed to manage the challenges we face – and to grasp the many opportunities that come our way,” Ms Shervington said.

Keen to promote greater diversity, Ms Shervington said the Busselton Water Board (of seven members) now includes four women, including a female Chair.

“We are committed to achieving gender equality in leadership across the business, so are proud to have boosted the female representation on our Board,” Ms Shervington said.

The new Board members include:

  • Busselton local Dr Robyn Paice, who brings extensive scientific experience and knowledge of aquatic ecosystems to the Board as well as water policy analysis and development and a significant understanding of local waterways.
  • Perth based business woman, Dr Gae Synnott, who has over 35 years’ experience in management and communications within government and a background in social sciences.
  • Busselton Water CEO, Chris Elliott, whose experience in the water industry spans more than four decades, including five years at the helm of the corporation.

“As we welcome new members, we also say farewell to two of our long serving members – Chris Boulton and Matt Walker – who have been a significant part of our team over the many years they have served,” she added.

Busselton Water Board members are nominated by the Minister for Water and serve a three-year term.

View the Minister for Water’s statement about Busselton Water’s new board appointments here.